19 Comments
author

Checking to see if my profile pic shows up now.

Expand full comment
Apr 19, 2021Liked by Nick Cole, Single White Medusa

I don't think sports themselves are to blame. I think its the coverage of sports... particularly pro sports. Media and huge contracts has turned them into movie stars. Sports are competition, they teach discipline and work ethic. Things liberals and betas hate. Sometimes you work your ass off and you still lose but you keep trying until you succeed...things like that. There is definitely a cancer within pro sports, but I think it's the business side and the media coverage that allows it to grow. Until now its lost its appeal to even watch. I'd rather go watch local high school teams than pay money to watch a bunch of "professionals" that hate "people like me" anyways.

Expand full comment
author

Agree. 100%

Expand full comment

Does Victor David Hanson have a hardcore history style podcast?

Expand full comment
founding
May 11, 2021Liked by Single White Medusa

I read a saying once and it went like this:

“Hard times create strong men. Strong men create good times. Good times create soft men. Soft men create hard times.” Rinse and repeat. I thought of the rise and fall of Rome when I first read this quote. Now, I start thinking about the good ol’ US of A and what will happen to her. Hard times. Time to man up.

Expand full comment

I've never been much into spectator sports, I'm kind of a guy who rather be DOING, then OBSERVING.. But it is fascinating/scary/sad to consider the downfall of Major League sports. I'm just old enough to remember the generation of players, who actually were decent role models for your kids. Guys who were actually good people, upstanding citizens, who had fought for their country.. Take Tom Landry for example, B-17 Pilot during WW2. By all accounts guys like Wayne Gretzky and Nolan Ryan were upstanding guys. And I'm old enough to remember how that started changing, Dallas Cowboys, Columbia's Team! How Teams would keep players on board no matter what they did, as long as they played well. Drugs, Sexual Assault Allegations, drunk driving, dog fighting, do whatever evil deed you desire, just keep bringing in the money.

That was the beginning of the hollowing out of American Sports. Now they're selling out in the name of wokeness. Like I said, I'm not a fan of the spectator lifestyle, but I do recognize that at one time the celebration of decent men playing a sport that America could enjoy, had real value. Not anymore. And I think that was by design, to further fracture America. We got rid of decent men, replaced them with felons and were told to worship at their feet. And it boggles my mind that so few people see that.

I will say.. That is why I do like the Rodeo. Its a celebration of true American traditions, a celebration of hard working men & women. And a sport you don't see wokeness in, and I think it'll be safe for a long time to come.

And now for the most controversial part of my post.. The Worship of Professional Sports has become the Religion of a lot of people. Just like woke politics it the religion of so many leftists. It was promoted as a lifestyle to distract and draw people away from Church & their communities, while generating mountains of money. I said earlier, celebrating truly decent men playing games wasn't a bad thing, but now? Its idolatry. Terrible human beings put on alters for everyone to worship. Yeah.. no thanks.

I grew up admiring my dad, the guys he served with in Vietnam. Our founding fathers, the stories of the men who served in Vietnam, WW2 and beyond. They made me want to be the best person I could be, and taught me to endure the bad times. No ball player ever did that for me!

Expand full comment

Sing it loud. Sing it strong.

Expand full comment
founding
Apr 19, 2021Liked by Nick Cole

My father took me to every Nebraska game as a kid. But it wasn't about the game really. It was about spending time together in a way that we couldn't on the farm. I grew up working. Few days off, because animals need to be cared for no matter the calendar said. Went to college and became an engineer, and then into making things. Not every day was good, not every day was nice, but I can look back at my life and see what I helped build.

It was rather recently that I found out not everyone has that. There are plants I helped design, processes I made world class, engineers that I have helped build, and people I have built up.

Small achievements maybe, but things that make me smile.

Grab life. Be meaner than it. Realize that in the end no matter what happens, you are here to go at it.

Expand full comment
author

Be meaner than it!!!!

Expand full comment
Apr 19, 2021Liked by Nick Cole

You play sports to help you gain useful skills for life, fitness, confidence, teamwork etc... Sports for the sake of sports never made sense to me. What useful skills can be gained from being a fanatic and religious tuning into millionaires play with a ball while you drink beer, eat junk food and get fat, plus indoctrinated from the constant barrage of corporate messaging.

Expand full comment
author

Nailed it!

Expand full comment

Good point. Never been a real sports guy, myself, but I encourage both of my children to be active in sports. Maybe I live vicariously through my children?

Expand full comment
author

That’s how ya do it, Brother. Not some stranger who could carr less.

Expand full comment
author

“Care”

Expand full comment

KTF!

Expand full comment

Nothing more fun than watching your 4-year old run the bases in a fierce game of wee-ball. Intense! He takes it very seriously.

Expand full comment

In order for the great communist revolution were to take place they need us poor, dis united and bickering. Look at Russia 1917. The revolution wasn't an easy thing. It resembled 1936 Spain in many regards. It suceeded as there was no unity in the opposition. If this new revolution is to suceed, then removing the strong men from society is a path they must take. The revolution will be easier if everyone were weak beta males.

Expand full comment
author

Buy guns!!

Expand full comment